i’m ill and my feet hurt.

It’s Sunday. So naturally I feel the impending doom of the coming week and all the work I need to get done. On top of that, my throat hurts more than it has all week and I can’t breathe out of my nose.

023-2

I’m typically not a very pessimistic person, but being ill really brings me down. I just want to lay in bed all day and watch Netflix — not write the essay for my History of Sevilla class that’s due tomorrow.

024-2

The fact that I’ve just recently un-blocked Netflix for Spain does not help this temptation. (Also, who knew that Netflix didn’t work in every country? I thought the internet worked everywhere.)

025-2

Oh, and on top of everything else, my feet hurt. My feet really hurt. All over.

Back home I walk a lot. But typically in my gym shoes on the trail or around my neighborhood. I very rarely walk around in nice shoes that I would wear to school or work.

Here, in Sevilla, we walk everywhere, and I typically find myself wearing shoes that aren’t so suitable for long distances. Especially over cobblestone streets and sidewalks with uneven bricks. And the worst part is, it’s not just my feet that are paying for the constant walking. It’s my shoes. MY SHOES!

So let me present to you my beautiful, $50, Steve Madden sandals:

011-2004-2 002-2 009-2

Trust me, I’m crying just as much as you right now.

007-2

I guess I’ve been stupid to wear them as much as I have been, but it’s been really hot in Sevilla (we’re talking at least 80 for the past three weeks) and they’re the only pair of sandals I brought. What’s more, my favorite vans, that are wonderfully comfortable, got ruined at a club the other night and I’m still trying to salvage them. But, alas, that’s a story for another time. (But is it true that you can put vans in the washing machine?)

I’m gonna stop procrastinating and try to get some work done. Hopefully this week I can update ya’ll on what’s been going on in Sevilla since I’ve been here. I really came in late to the whole blogging game here.

Hope ya’ll have a good Sunday!

Leave a Reply

